Select a School...
Select a School

Country Day School of the Sacred Heart

Board of Trustees

2013 - 2014


Head of School:  S. Matthew Anita MacDonald, SSJ, Ph.D.*

Chair:  Barbara Carroll:  Enterprise & Operational Risk Management Consultant

Karen Casale          Former VP of HR, CIO-WaWa, Inc.

Dr. Joy Anderson Davis      Professor – University of Pennsylvania

James A. Donahue           Retired Department of Defense Manager

Virginia G. Essandoh, Esq.       Attorney – Ballard Spahr, LLP

Nancy Merola Franz ’88        Vice President – Alumnae Association

Christopher Gagliardi*        President of Fathers’ Association

S. Joan Gannon, RSCJ        Religious of the Sacred Heart

John Greenwald          Vice President – Beacon Comm. Real Estate

Nicole Gress*          President of the Mothers' Association

Michael Kearney        Homeland Security

Dr. Sean Kennedy       Physician

Lee Slocum Lamparski         CPA, Accounting and Tax Consultant

S. Margo Morris, RSCJ       Sprout Creek Farm

Mark Nagle        Educator

Edgar Nouss     Eecutive Director - Merck & Co.                     

John Oberdorf        Architect - The Oberdorf Formation

Louis Orlando, Jr.**        Business

Steve Park         Attorney – Ballard Spahr, LLP

Tia Plummer ’01     Philadelphia District Attorney's Office

Dr. Stephen Porth           Assoc. Dean & Ex. Dir. St. Joseph’s Univ.

Charles Reid, Esq.          Attorney - Hayden Real Estate Investments, LLC

Kimberly Short, Esq.      Attorney Recruitment – Ballard Spahr, LLP       

J. Eustace Wolfington**       Philanthropist

Janine Zozaya           Business

 *Non-voting **Trustee Emeritus, non-voting

The role of the Board is to set school policy as well as to hire and evaluate the Head of School every other year. Each board member is elected and limited to two consecutive three-year terms.

Board duties include: Elect officers, approve an annual budget for the School, oversee the financial operations of the School,  fix salaries of the Head and other officers of the School, oversee the general operations of the School, confer diplomas and grant certificates or other honors.